Home Events Olympia 2016 Winners

Olympia 2016 Winners


The Olympia 2016 competition ended this year on 18th September and the official results are in.

It wasn’t an easy battle for Phil Heath as he climbed to win his 6th Olympia title. However, considering his remarkable peak shape has been preserved, it was expected of him to be the winner. The payout was set at $400,000 and the champion is expected to win next year’s trophy, too. Below you will find the top 10 results for each category in the contest:

Mr Olympia

  1. Phil Heath
  2. Shawn Rhoden
  3. Dexter Jackson
  4. Mamdouh Ellsbiay
  5. William Bonac
  6. Roelly Winklaar
  7. Cedric McMillan
  8. Dallas McCarver
  9. Josh Lenartowicz
  10. Justin Compton

Phil Heath entered the bodybuilding world in 2002 and has just won his sixth Mr Olympia title. The Seattle-born athlete defeated legends Jay Cutler in 2011 and Kai Greene in 2014. Heath is the owner of the Gifted Athletics fitness apparel brand and the author of 5 DVDs on bodybuilding.


Mr Olympia 212

  1. James Flex Lewis
  2. Ahmad Ashkanani
  3. Jose Raymond
  4. Eduardo Correa
  5. David Henry
  6. Hidetada Yamagishi
  7. Charles Dixon
  8. Guy Cisternino
  9. Ronny Rockel
  10. Alex Cambronero

Nicknamed ‘Flex’, James Lewis from Wales, UK won his fifth consecutive Olympia title. The Welsh athlete began training at the age of 12 under Tom Platz’s influence. He played elite level rugby, which had greatly improved his body’s flexibility.


Men’s Physique

  1. Jeremy Buendia
  2. Ryan Terry
  3. Jeremy Potvin
  4. Brandon Hendrikson
  5. Andre Ferguson
  6. George Brown
  7. Jason Poston
  8. Joseph Lee
  9. Logan Franklin
  10. Dean Balabis

American IFBB Pro Jeremy Bundia is a well known name in the league, as he’s been dominating recent competitions. This is his third consecutive title of the kind. It may not be surprising considering he spent all his life in the weight room, as his father was also a bodybuilder.


Women’s Physique

  1. Juliana Malacarne
  2. Danielle Reardon
  3. Heather Grace
  4. Kira Neuman
  5. Jamie Nicole Pinder
  6. Sheronica Henton
  7. Mindi O’Brien
  8. Autumn Swansen
  9. Asha Hadley
  10. Frances Mendez

It’s Juliana Malacarne third consecutive Olympia title. The Brazilian won her pro card in 2005. You may be surprised to find out that she first stepped into the gym at the age of 20. For a long time she hasn’t even been interested in competing and often gave up hard training for the sake of her family life. Juliana Malacarne is a strong supporter of clean eating.



  1. Courtney King
  2. Angelica Teixeira
  3. India Paulino
  4. Ashley Kaltwasser
  5. Jennifer Ronzitti
  6. Janet Layung
  7. Stacey Alexander
  8. Narmin Assria
  9. Romina Basualdo
  10. Bianca Berry

Illinois fitness model Courtney King is 23 years old has a numerous Instagram following already and is one of IFBB’s youngest pro athletes. She has been bagging trophies since 2011 in NPC championships and has also walked away with the 2016 Female Athlete of the Year Award.



  1. Oksana Grishina
  2. Tanji Johnson
  3. Regina DeSilva
  4. Whitney Jones
  5. Bethany Wagner
  6. Fiona Harris
  7. Ariel Khadr
  8. Kristine Duba
  9. Dominique Matthews
  10. Aurika Tyrgale

Oksana Grishina, originally from Russia, has just won the fitness content for the second consecutive year. The previous year, her performance on stage was described as ‘theater’ and explained by Oksana herself as her means to share a part of her soul with the audience. She started at the age of 7 with rhythmic gymnastics. Grishina has a specialist degree in Physical Training and sports.



  1. Latorya Watts
  2. Candice Lewis Carter
  3. Cydney Gillon
  4. Nicole Wilkins
  5. Swann De La Rosa
  6. Camala Rodriguez McClure
  7. Gennifer Strobo
  8. Carly Horrell
  9. Vera Mallet
  10. Jennifer Taylor

Latorya Watts started to have an interest in exercising in her mid-twenties. Her first participation was in 2009 in a bikini competition, with her figure debut in 2011. 2016 brought her two other important titles: Arnold Classic and Arnold Classic Australia winner.


Classic Physique

  1. Danny Hester
  2. Arash Rahbar
  3. Sadik Hadzovic
  4. Breon Ansley
  5. Darrem Charles
  6. Robert Timms
  7. Ko Chandetka
  8. Shavis Higa
  9. Terrence Ruffin
  10. Stan McQuay

The first ever Classic Physique contest in the event was won by Danny Hester. The 47-year old IFBB pro scored better than a whole bunch of valuable contenders. Few know that Hester is a former nurse and a current workout equipment designer. The athlete has a mixed Cherokee and Thai background and probably has a secret method for staying young.


Mr. Olympia Competition History

Mr. Olympia is a premier yearly professional bodybuilding competition that takes place in Las Vegas, Nevada, USA. This year it was organized during September 15 – 18. However, the first Olympia competition in history was held in New York, in 1965. The international contest is organized by the IFBB and its top recordman is Lee Haney, who won 8 titles. The competition was eventually extended to include Fitness and Figure competitors as well. The 70’s as well as the 80s were marked by Arnold Schwarzenegger’s victories, while the 90s were known as “The Growth Hormone Era”. Dorian Yates was the first competitor to grow muscle mass through hormone use, thus changing the competition goals but also creating intense debate. During the recent years, Mr. Olympia has been the battleground of three big champions: Kai Greene, Jay Cutler and Phil Heath.

Read my previous article Olympia 2016 Predictions.

Plus find out previous year of Olympia Winners in 2014 and Olympia Winners in 2015

Your fitness pal



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here